Abortion Reporting: Alabama (2025)
Alabama’s 2025 abortion report was published online by the Alabama Department of Public Health (ADPH) in September 2026, showing that three abortions at brick-and-mortar facilities in the state were reported to the Department. After Roe v. Wade was overturned in June 2022, the state immediately started enforcing its prohibition on abortions except in cases where continued pregnancy would pose a serious health risk to the mother and/or in cases where the unborn child was diagnosed with a lethal fetal anomaly (Ala. §26-23H-4).
The data published by Alabama does not include the total number of abortions obtained by Alabama residents outside of the state or the number of self-managed abortions performed by women outside of the healthcare system. The report also does not contain the number of mail-order abortion drugs obtained by Alabama residents prescribed by licensed abortionists in other states with shield laws. Below, Charlotte Lozier Institute (CLI) will describe data provided by the Guttmacher Institute’s Monthly Abortion Provision Study that details the total number of Alabama women who traveled out of state to obtain an abortion in 2025. Guttmacher’s abortion estimates include the number of abortions obtained at brick-and-mortar facilities and those provided via telehealth and virtual providers in states where such abortions are legal. CLI will also describe data from the Society of Family Planning’s (SFP) #WeCount project that details the number of abortion drugs mailed to Alabama women.
Alabama law defines abortion as “the use or prescription of any instrument, medicine, drug, or any other substance or device with the intent to terminate the pregnancy of a woman known to be pregnant with knowledge that the termination by those means will with reasonable likelihood cause the death of the unborn child” (Ala. §26-23H-3). The statute code notes that the state’s definition of abortion does not include the removal of an ectopic pregnancy, activities performed to save the life or health of the unborn child and/or mother, or the termination of an unborn child with a lethal fetal anomaly.
Abortion Totals and Trends
In 2025, there were only three abortions reported in Alabama, the same number as 2024, and, there were zero drug-induced abortions compared to the three that were performed in Alabama in 2024 (Fig. 1). CLI estimates that Alabama’s abortion rate stayed at 0.003 abortions per 1,000 women ages 15 to 44 in 2025 (Fig. 2).1 Alabama separately reports the number of abortions performed on state residents, both in Alabama and other states, but doesn’t differentiate how many abortions were performed on Alabama residents in and out-of-state.Furthermore, not all states share abortion data with Alabama. Abortions known to have been performed on Alabama residents decreased by 38% from 2,970 in 2024 to 1,833 in 2025.
State Report Summary
Abortions Performed on Alabama Residents
Seven percent of Alabama resident abortions were performed on girls under the age of 20. Twenty-four percent of abortions were performed on women ages 20 to 24, and 31% on women ages 25 to 29. Thirty-five percent of the abortions were obtained by women in their thirties, and 4% by women over the age of 40.
Sixty-five percent of Alabama resident abortions were performed on black women. White women obtained 27%, and 4% were performed on women of a different race. Race was not reported for 5% of the abortions. The black abortion rate, 3.9 abortions per 1,000 women ages 15 and 44, was nearly five times the white abortion rate of 0.8. A majority of the abortions (88%) were performed on unmarried women, compared to 9% on married women and 4% on women of unknown marital status.
Over one third of the abortions performed on Alabama residents (35%) were obtained by women with no previous live births. Twenty-seven percent were obtained by women with one prior live birth, and 38% by women with two or more live births. Most abortions (68%) were performed on Alabama women with no previous abortions. Nineteen percent were performed on women with one prior abortion, and 13% were obtained by women with two or more previous induced abortions.
Forty-one percent of the abortions were performed on resident women who had completed at least some college. Fifty-six percent were performed on women who had completed 12th grade as their highest level of education. Under 1% (0.3%) were performed on women with an 11th grade education or less, and education was not reported for 3% of abortions.
Unlike previous years, 99% of the abortions performed on Alabama residents in and out-of-state occurred at six weeks of gestation or earlier. To see how the number of abortions by gestation differed from 2024 to 2025, see below.
| # Of Abortions, 2024 | % of Abortions, 2024 | # of Abortions, 2025 | % of Abortions, 2025 | Difference in Abortions, 2024 to 2025 | |
| ≤6 | 2,351 | 79% | 1,813 | 98.9% | -538 |
| 7-8 | 333 | 11% | 7 | 0.4% | -326 |
| 9-10 | 178 | 6% | 3 | 0.2% | -175 |
| 11-12 | 87 | 3% | 2 | 0.1% | -85 |
| 13-14 | 2 | 0.1% | 2 | 0.1% | NA |
| 15-19 | 3 | 0.1% | 4 | 0.2% | + 1 |
| 20+ | 2 | 0.1% | 2 | 0.1% | NA |
| Unknown | 14 | 0.5% | 0 | 0% | -14 |
| Total | 2,970 | 1,833 |
Abortions Performed in Alabama
Separately, Alabama reports on the abortions that occurred in the state, including those performed on residents and nonresidents. However, the report does not delineate the breakdown of abortions by residency. There were three abortions reported in Alabama in 2025.
One abortion was performed on a woman between the ages of 20 and 24, and two on women in their thirties. No abortions were performed on minors in Alabama. One abortion was obtained by a white woman and two by black women. Two abortions in Alabama were performed via suction curettage and one was performed using a Potassium Chloride injection which stops the fetal heartbeat before the unborn child is removed during labor induction or other surgical procedures. Two of the abortions performed in the state did not utilize intra-fetal injections.
Alabama reports all abortions occurring in the state using probable post-fertilization age (ppfa), rather than gestational age, which the state uses to report abortions performed on resident women. In 2025, one abortion was performed at or before six weeks, another between seven and eight weeks ppfa, and another between 11 and 12 weeks ppfa. For two abortions performed in Alabama, the method used was not the one that provided the best opportunity for the unborn child to survive. In one case, the best method was not used because the mother was suffering from a severe, life-threatening cardiac disease and in the other, the mother was suffering from an advanced malignancy.
Guttmacher Data2
In 2025, Guttmacher estimated that 7,420 abortions were obtained by Alabama residents in Alabama via online-only organizations shipping abortion drugs into the state, in striking contrast to the three reported as occurring in the state by the ADPH . While the ADPH claimed in email correspondence with CLI that the department does track the total number of abortion drugs mailed to Alabama residents from out-of-state providers under shield laws, the immense discrepancy in occurrence totals between Guttmacher and the state says they may track such abortions and don’t include them in their published totals or they don’t track them at all. SFP estimated that 8,170 abortions occurred in Alabama in 2025, all via online-only organizations mailing abortion drugs into the state.
Furthermore, Guttmacher estimated that 4,070 abortions were obtained by Alabama residents who traveled to other states. To compare, Alabama reported between 1,830 and 1,833 (the state didn’t note the residency of the three women who obtained abortions in Alabama) abortions obtained by Alabama women out of state, a total 122% lower than Guttmacher’s estimate. One potential partial explanation for this large discrepancy is that not every state that Alabama women travel to reports abortion data back to Alabama. To see the number of abortions obtained by Alabama women according to Guttmacher in various states, see below.4
| States Traveled to by Alabama Women | # of Abortions Obtained by Alabama Women Who Traveled to Other States to Obtain Abortions, 2025 |
| Florida | 220 |
| Georgia | 2,160 |
| Illinois | 510 |
| North Carolina | 600 |
| Virginia | 280 |
| Total | 4,070 |
State Ranking
In CLI’s 2024 reevaluation of abortion reporting across the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and New York City, Alabama was tied for 12th best in the nation. To improve its reporting, as CLI has previously recommended, Alabama could report demographic information for all abortions occurring in the state. Additionally, Alabama could report the states to which Alabama residents travel for abortions, as well as the states of residence for nonresidents who obtain abortions in Alabama. Lastly, Alabama could also report abortion complication data.


- National rates were calculated by the Guttmacher Institute. Alabama rates were calculated by CLI using the following formula: (total number of abortions performed in Alabama ÷ number of resident women ages 15-44 [based on most recent population estimates]) x 1,000. Rates may differ slightly from previous CLI articles due to revised population estimates. Population estimates were obtained from the CDC WONDER database. Estimates for 2005-2009 are intercensal estimates of the July 1 resident population. Estimates for 2010-2019 are Vintage 2020 postcensal estimates of the July 1 resident population. Estimates for 2020-2025 are Vintage 2024 postcensal estimates of the July 1 resident population. Estimates were produced by the U.S. Census Bureau and the National Center for Health Statistics. Rates for 2025 were calculated using the Vintage 2024 postcensal estimates because 2025 population estimates have not yet been released by the CDC.
- The Guttmacher Institute notes that their monthly abortion totals by state are estimates and that each state’s estimate is within a range of uncertainty. Guttmacher’s data can be found in the CSV folder here (MonthlyAbortionProvisionMonthly). This information was updated as of October 5, 2026.
- #WeCount’s data can be foundhere by downloading the “Report data tables [.xlsx]” document. The #WeCount report specifies that the numbers included in their tables for abortions performed under shield laws only represent the number of women to whom abortion drugs were sent, not the number of drug-induced abortions that resulted from the mailed drugs. However, because #WeCount’s data is the only source of data that delineates the number of abortions by mode of provision (in-person, telehealth/mail order, and/or abortion drugs obtained under shield laws), their data is the best available. This information was updated as of October 5, 2026.
- Guttmacher’s travel and residence data can be found here(State_Abortion_Travel_2023_2024_2025.csv). This information was updated as of October 5, 2026.
- The changes in total abortions and drug-induced abortions reflect all abortions reported in Alabama. Alabama first reported drug-induced abortions as a separate type of procedure in 2012.
Click here to view reporting from:202420232022202120202019201820172016
